S.E.M. Ensemble


Upcoming Performances


On March 25th, SEM will perform at the MaerzMusik festival in Berlin, as part of their closing show "The Long Now".

Petr Kotik will conduct the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra at DOX in Prague, presenting an evening of Morton Feldman's works for large orchestra. Tickets here.

Petr Kotik will conduct Ostravská banda as part of the Bridges festival in Vienna on April 14th. Tickets here.

Petr Kotik's chamber opera Master-Pieces will be performed at Bohemian National Hall on April 28th.

SEM will play two pieces by Jacques Beckaert, as part of Thomas Buckner's "Interpretations" series at Roulette. The concert will take place at 8pm on May 3. Tickets here.


Concert Announcement: March 25

The Long Now

MaerzMusik Festival, Berlin

Sat. March 25, 2018, 11:30 AM - 4:30 PM

- at -

Kraftwerk Berlin
Köpenicker Str. 70, 10179 Berlin, Germany

Tickets Here

Chris Nappi, Joe Kubera, and Petr Kotik at the first SEM performance of For Philip Guston. Paula Cooper Gallery, 1988.

SEM will be performing Morton Feldman's five-hour long masterpiece For Philip Guston at the MaerzMusik Festival in Berlin on March 25. This performance is part of "The Long Now," the festival's 30-hour closing concert. "The Long Now" highlights music of extreme duration - For Philip Guston will fit right in!


Morton Feldman - For Philip Guston

S.E.M. Ensemble

Petr Kotik, Director

Petr Kotik (flute); Joe Kubera (piano); Chris Nappi (percussion)

S.E.M. Ensemble’s 2017-18 season has been made possible with the generous support of the New York State Council on the Arts in partnership with Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, with public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, The Phaedrus Foundation, The Amphion Foundation, The Low Road Foundation, Sheldon Berlow, Virginia Dwan, Beth Greenberg and Jim Wright, Raymond Learsy, Joseph Leighly, Rotraut Moquay, Renée Levine Packer, Tristan Perich, Noni Pratt, Andrew Reynolds, and Todd Tarantino. Special thanks to Paula Cooper, Jasper Johns, Werner Kramarsky, and Brooklyn District 33 Councilman Stephen T. Levin.