Katalin Karolyi & Ostravská banda, Infinito nero by Salvatore Sciarrino

PLEASE NOTE: This concert was originally scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 30, but has been rescheduled due to Hurricane Sandy. The first half of the program has been changed.

Ostravská banda & Members of Talujon Percussion

Katalin Károlyi, Mezzo Soprano • Petr Kotik, Conductor

James Tenney Having never written a note for percussion (1971)
John Cage Forever and Sunsmell (1942)
Rebecca Saunders Caerulean (2010/11) AMERICAN PREMIERE
John Cage Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs (1942)
Morton Feldman Durations I (1960)
Salvatore Sciarrino Infinito nero (1998) FIRST U.S. STAGED VERSION
“One act Ecstasy” chamber opera
Admission: $20 / $15 Festival Pass, Students | Buy Tickets
* NOTE: Due to necessary building repairs to the theater at ISSUE Project Room, the concert has been rescheduled for Bohemian National Hall.

Ostravská banda gives the first U.S. staged production of Salvatore Sciarrino’s chamber opera Infinito nero, a “One act Ecstasy” on text by Maria Maddalena de’Pazzi (ca. 1600). The soloist is the acclaimed Budapest-based mezzo soprano Katalin Károlyi, whose repertoire encompasses Baroque operas directed by William Christie and collaborations with composers such as Ligeti and Kurtág. Talujon Percussion, veteran performers of Cage’s music, will perform a broad range of his percussion pieces from 1939 to 1986, one of James Tenney’s “Postcard Pieces”, as well as Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Kreuzspiel in a joint effort with Ostravská banda.

Members of Talujon Percussion performing at the Bang on a Can Marathon, World Financial Center

Co-presented by Ostrava Center for New Music, in partnership with Bohemian National Hall and Talujon Percussion