S.E.M. Ensemble

On Wednesday, April 29, Petr Kotik will lead the Orchestra of the SEM Ensemble and members of Ostravská banda in large orchestral pieces by George Lewis, Roscoe Mitchell (World premiere, with Thomas Buckner, baritone), Wadada Leo Smith, and AACM founder Muhal Richard Abrams. The evening will include a rare performance by the distinguished improvising trio of Muhal Richard Abrams (piano) George Lewis (trombone) and Roscoe Mitchell (saxophone). 

Concert IV: WEDNESDAY, APRIL 29, 2015 @ 8 pm

The Orchestra of the S.E.M. Ensemble with members of Ostravská banda
Petr Kotik, Conductor
Thomas Buckner, Baritone

The Trio:
Roscoe Mitchell, Saxophone
George E. Lewis, Trombone
Muhal Richard Abrams, Piano


MERGERTONE (2007) Muhal Richard Abrams

KINGMAKER (2015) Roscoe Mitchell (World Premiere)

MEMEX (2014) George E. Lewis


Muhal Richard Abrams, Roscoe Mitchell, George E. Lewis